The feature EndOfLife Management allows you as Empirum User to fully and simply erase all managed computers. The erasing comprises the local hard drive of the computer according to configurable standards and the optional removal of the computer object from the Empirum database and - if desired - from the directory service (ADS or NDS).

A template must have been created in the module OS Installer > Operating system configuration tab > EndOfLife tab.
A boot image must have been created in the module OS Installer > Boot disk tab > Diskette Configuration tab.

This is how you configure a computer for deletion via EndOfLife:

  1. Change in the navigation pane to Management > Administration and right-click a computer.
    EOL_004
  2. In the context menu select the menu item EndOfLife…
    EOL_005
  3. Via the drop-down field select a Template and a Bootimage and click on Next >.
    Each parameter of the dialog is described in the following sections:
    • Template: Select here a Template created in the Module OS Installer > Operating system configuration tab > EndOfLife tab.
    • PXE activate: If this checkbox is ticked, you can select a boot image in the drop-down field. If the checkbox is not ticked, then the computer must be booted via a boot diskette.
      • Bootimage: Via the drop-down field, select a boot image, on which a corresponding network card driver for the selected computer(s) is located.
        EOL_006
  4. Via the options select whether the computer or computers are also to be deleted from the Empirum Database and/or from the Directory Service. Click on Next >.

    Deleting from the directory service is only possible when the computer object has been made by the Empirum-LDAPSync service in the Empirum database.

    You get a summary of the settings you made.
    EOL_007
  5. In order for the Wizard to be finalized, you have to tick the checkbox next to the option Activate EndOfLife. Only after that you can click on Finish.
    A further security dialog follows:
    EOL_008
  6. Click Yes to confirm.
    In the middle window, a configuration group EndOfLife_ComputerName is now created for the selected computer. The selected computer, the template and the boot image are assigned to this configuration group and the computer is activated.
    EOL_009

After the next boot process of the computer, the assigned boot image is executed and the hard drive of the computer is fully erased.

EOL_010

After a successful return message from the deletion process, the specified actions - delete from the Empirum database and / or from the Directory Service - are executed.

Then the newly created configuration group EndOfLife_ComputerName is deleted. Depending on the setting, the computer still exists in the initial group, or is deleted completely.

If a computer is not deleted from the Empirum database, the EndOfLife process can be seen in the PXE log of the respective computer (Double-click the computer > PXE-Log tab).