For Empirum database roles to execute specific actions are created in Empirum DBUtil. These roles have the necessary rights to the database objects. Moreover, several database users can be specified in Empirum DBUtil. By means of the group rights, the rights for the database users and / or database roles can be defined in detail for working in Empirum Management.
When moving configuration groups or subgroups, previously set rights remain and are not automatically adapted to the target structure. For this reason, we recommend always creating new groups and NOT moving them!
How to define group rights in the Empirum Management:
- Right-click on the group whose rights you want to edit and select Expert > Edit group rights from the context menu.
The Rights for Group dialog box appears.
- Select Add.
- Add: Here you can create a new entry for a DB user or role and assign rights for it.
- Edit: If a DB user or role has been marked in the window, further rights can be assigned via this button. Removing a check mark does not remove the rights! To do this, the DB user or role must first be deleted via the Remove button and then the rights assigned again.
- Remove: The selected DB user or role is deleted via this button.
- Add changes for all subordinated groups: If this option is activated, the currently set group rights are inherited by all subordinate groups - once when activated. Only further rights are inherited. Rights that have already been set are not deleted by removing a check mark!
-
Overwrite for all subordinated groups: If this option is activated, the currently set group rights are inherited by all subordinate groups - once when activated.
Existing rights in subordinated groups are deleted.
The Edit Rights dialog box appears.
- Under DB-User/Roles select the database user or the role for which you want to edit the rights.
- Subsequently, specify the rights desired for the database user or the role under Rights. If you select Administrative, the database user or role will obtain all rights for working with the Empirum Management.
- Confirm your settings with OK.
- Administrative: There are no restrictions, your are assigned all rights.
-
Insert objects / Delete objects: The following objects can be added to or deleted from the selected configuration group, if the respective option is enabled:
- Computer
- User
- Software (-Classes)
- PatchManagement-Classes
- OS-Templates
- PXE-Images
- Sync-Templates
- Agent-Templates
-
Create Sub Groups: You may create additional subgroups for the selected group and subordinated groups.
If a user gets the right to create subgroups and creates a group, he automatically becomes the owner and administrator of this group!
- Delete Sub Groups: You may delete existing subgroups for the selected group and subordinated groups.
- Activate: You may execute the activation wizard or the selected group and subordinated groups.
- Activate PXE: You may execute the PXE activation option for the selected group and subordinated groups.
- Reinstall: You may execute the Reinstallation... option in the context menu for a computer or a software for the selected group and subordinated groups.
- Edit Distribution Commands: You may execute the Distribution Commands... option in the context menu for the selected group and subordinated groups.
- End of Life: Allows to perform an EndOfLife-process on a client to wipe the harddisk.
- Push Agent: Allows to perform the function Push Agent (Advanced).
- View in WebConsole: Shows the configuration group and all subgroups in the web console for the specified user.
-
Edit Group Properties: The properties of the group may be changed.
You are led to the Rights for Group dialog box again, where the database user or role is now displayed with the assigned rights.
- To exit the dialog box, click OK.