Delete an Object

How to delete an object:

  1. Right-click the object you want to delete, and select Delete from the popup menu.
    If a software package has been selected to be deleted, the following query appears.
  2. If you want to delete the software from this group with all distribution commands, click Delete.
  3. If you want to set the distribution command to uninstall, click Uninstall.
  4. If you want to terminate the process, click Cancel.

    Note: If a computer is deleted, the entries in the installation file SWDepot.ddc and the operating system configuration are deleted as well. If a computer is deleted from a group, it is deleted from the group only. But if you delete a computer from the left side of the Computers tab, it is deleted from the Empirum database along with all its settings.

     
    If a user is deleted, the entries in the installation file SWDepot.ddc are deleted. If a user is deleted from a group, he is deleted from the group only. But if you delete a user from the left side of the Users tab, he is deleted from the Empirum database along with all his settings.
    If a software package is deleted, the entries in the installation file SWDepot.ddc are deleted.
    If an operating system template is deleted, the operating system configuration is deleted.

Deleting Software via the Assigned Software... Dialog Box

To delete a software package that has been assigned to a filter or a group, perform the following steps.

  1. Right-click a filter and select Show Software... from the pop-up menu.
    The Assigned Software for filter: <Filter Name> dialog box appears.

    You are shown the software that has been assigned to this filter.
    or
  2. Right-click a group and select Show Software... from the popup menu.
    The Assigned Software to Group: < Group name> dialog box appears.

    You are shown the software that has been assigned to this group and its assigned computers.
  3. Select the software you want to delete and click Delete.

    Note: If a software package is deleted, the entries in the installation file SWDepot.ddc are deleted.

     
  4. Confirm the security query with OK.
  5. Click OK or Cancel to close the dialog box.

Deleting Computers via the Assigned Computer... Dialog Box

  1. Right-click a group and select Show Computers... from the popup menu.
    The Assigned Computer to Group: <Group name> dialog box appears.

    You are shown the computers that have been assigned to this group. Under Number, the number of assigned computers is displayed.
  2. Select the computer you want to delete, and click Delete.

    Note: If you delete a computer, it will be deleted from the Empirum database along with all its settings. If a computer is deleted from a group, it is deleted from the group only. But if you delete a computer from the left side of the Computers tab, it is deleted from the Empirum database along with all its settings.

     
  3. Confirm the security query with OK.
  4. Click OK or Cancel to close the dialog box.