A sync template allows you to synchronize files or whole directories (a source and one or several destinations). Several predefined sync templates are available for standard synch tasks.

  1. To create a new sync template, right-click Sync Templates in Management > Administration tab and select New…
    Manager_Sync_000
    Sync-Templates - Template name, Source and Target paths
    Manager_Sync_001
    • Name. Specify an unambiguous name, which will be used as name for the package to be distributed.
    • Paths. If you use Empirum Sync variables, these variables must be defined beforehand by right-clicking Computer > Properties > Variables in the Computer and the Sync tabs. A variable may contain the name/login information of one or several computer(s). If the variable contains several values, the first value is always used.
      • Source: Specify the complete path for the source directory.
      • Target: Specify the complete path for the destination directory.
  2. Enter a name for the new sync template, specify the source and the target under Paths, and confirm this dialog with Next >.
    Sync-Templates - General Options
    Manager_Sync_002
    • Include subdirectories: If this option is activated, all files of the source folder, including subdirectories, are synchronized.
    • Do not delete files on destination: Files which exist at the destination, but not at the source, are note deleted at the destination.
    • Move (Warning, source files will be deleted): The source files are moved to the destination folder and, thus, the source is deleted.
    • No comparison source < - > destination: No synchronization is performed, new or modified files are copied to the destination (corresponds to the XCopy command).
    • Ignore 2 seconds time difference (NTFS to FAT): Ignores the difference in saving behavior of the two file system (FAT saves times only with an accuracy of 2 sec.).
    • Write Init/Exit output to log: The results of the init and exit commands are written into the log file.
    • Execute Init/Exit for each target
      • Activated: The init and exit commands are executed for each specified target.
      • Deactivated: The init commands are executed once for all specified targets prior to each synchronization; the exit commands are executed once after each synchronization.
    • Write Sync Log
      The logs of the individual sync jobs are displayed in the log view Empirum Server Monitor.
  3. Define the desired settings and confirm this dialog with Next >.
    Sync-Templates - File size, Scheduler and Bandwidth
    Manager_Sync_003
    • File size
      • All Files. All files (*.*) will be synchronized always.
      • Only files. The size of the individual files to be synchronized can be defined with "greater than" or "less than" kilobytes (KB), megabytes (MB) or gigabytes (GB).
    • Scheduler... Opens the Scheduler dialog box. Here, you can define exactly how often and in which interval a synchronization is to be carried out. For details, please refer to Scheduler. 
    • Bandwith
      • Min. Bandwidth. You can set the minimum bandwidth required by Empirum Sync service for the synchronization of the corresponding task.
      • Throttling. Specifies the maximum bandwidth used for the Empirum Sync service in percent.

        This setting is only applied if the synchronization is performed via rsync . Preconfigured rsync templates start with an "R" , e.g., RSubdepot_Packages.

  4. Define your settings and confirm this dialog with Next >.
    Sync-Templates - Excluded directories and files
    Manager_Sync_004
    • Excluded directories. Here you may enter the directories that shall not be synchronized.
    • Excluded files. Here you may enter the files that shall not be synchronized.
    • Add, Edit, Delete, arrow keys. With these buttons, you can add a directory or file, edit existing or delete existing entries. Use the arrow keys to move existing entries upwards or downwards.
  5. Define your settings and confirm this dialog with Next >.
    Sync-Templates - Init and Post Commands
    Manager_Sync_005
    • Init Commands. Here you can enter commands which shall be executed prior to synchronization.
    • Post Commands. Here you can enter commands which shall be executed after the synchronization.
    • Add, Edit, Delete, arrow keys. With this buttons, you can add commands, edit existing or delete existing commands. Use the arrow keys to move existing commands upwards or downwards.
  6. Define your settings and confirm this dialog with Finish.