A sync template allows you to synchronize files or whole directories (a source and one or several destinations). Several predefined sync templates are available for standard synch tasks.
- To create a new sync template, right-click Sync Templates in Management > Administration tab and select New…
.png)
Sync-Templates - Template name, Source and Target paths.png)
- Name. Specify an unambiguous name, which will be used as name for the package to be distributed.
-
Paths. If you use Empirum Sync variables, these variables must be defined beforehand by right-clicking Computer > Properties > Variables in the Computer and the Sync tabs. A variable may contain the name/login information of one or several computer(s). If the variable contains several values, the first value is always used.
- Source: Specify the complete path for the source directory.
- Target: Specify the complete path for the destination directory.
- Enter a name for the new sync template, specify the source and the target under Paths, and confirm this dialog with Next >.
Sync-Templates - General Options.png)
- Include subdirectories: If this option is activated, all files of the source folder, including subdirectories, are synchronized.
- Do not delete files on destination: Files which exist at the destination, but not at the source, are note deleted at the destination.
- Move (Warning, source files will be deleted): The source files are moved to the destination folder and, thus, the source is deleted.
- No comparison source < - > destination: No synchronization is performed, new or modified files are copied to the destination (corresponds to the XCopy command).
- Ignore 2 seconds time difference (NTFS to FAT): Ignores the difference in saving behavior of the two file system (FAT saves times only with an accuracy of 2 sec.).
- Write Init/Exit output to log: The results of the init and exit commands are written into the log file.
-
Execute Init/Exit for each target
- Activated: The init and exit commands are executed for each specified target.
- Deactivated: The init commands are executed once for all specified targets prior to each synchronization; the exit commands are executed once after each synchronization.
-
Write Sync Log
The logs of the individual sync jobs are displayed in the log view Empirum Server Monitor.
- Define the desired settings and confirm this dialog with Next >.
Sync-Templates - File size, Scheduler and Bandwidth.png)
-
File size
- All Files. All files (*.*) will be synchronized always.
- Only files. The size of the individual files to be synchronized can be defined with "greater than" or "less than" kilobytes (KB), megabytes (MB) or gigabytes (GB).
- Scheduler... Opens the Scheduler dialog box. Here, you can define exactly how often and in which interval a synchronization is to be carried out. For details, please refer to Scheduler.
-
Bandwith
- Min. Bandwidth. You can set the minimum bandwidth required by Empirum Sync service for the synchronization of the corresponding task.
- Throttling. Specifies the maximum bandwidth used for the Empirum Sync service in percent.
This setting is only applied if the synchronization is performed via rsync . Preconfigured rsync templates start with an "R" , e.g., RSubdepot_Packages.
-
File size
- Define your settings and confirm this dialog with Next >.
Sync-Templates - Excluded directories and files.png)
- Excluded directories. Here you may enter the directories that shall not be synchronized.
- Excluded files. Here you may enter the files that shall not be synchronized.
- Add, Edit, Delete, arrow keys. With these buttons, you can add a directory or file, edit existing or delete existing entries. Use the arrow keys to move existing entries upwards or downwards.
- Define your settings and confirm this dialog with Next >.
Sync-Templates - Init and Post Commands.png)
- Init Commands. Here you can enter commands which shall be executed prior to synchronization.
- Post Commands. Here you can enter commands which shall be executed after the synchronization.
- Add, Edit, Delete, arrow keys. With this buttons, you can add commands, edit existing or delete existing commands. Use the arrow keys to move existing commands upwards or downwards.
- Define your settings and confirm this dialog with Finish.